Kevin Richardson Publishes First Book

Kevin Richardson at Cogswell

WeilyApps

Cogswell College alumnus, Kevin Richardson (class of 2003), just released the first in his young adult book series, Andy McDougal and the Crypt of the Chimera, which is for sale now on Amazon.com. The Kindle book will be $0.99 cents until midnight April 3rd. Watch his introductory video on YouTube.

In the vein of Harry Potter and A Series of Unfortunate Events, Richardson says the main thing he was going after with Andy McDougal was to ground the book series in everyday life and then springboard into fun, frights and danger.

"The series is a tribute to the scary books I read from my youth like Witches, Witches, Witches by Helen Hoke," said Richardson. "In addition to the scares, I hope the series inspires young adults to follow their passions even when the stakes are high. Andy has to face every imaginable danger and just like real life, he's not prepared and has to adapt fast!"

When Andy begins reading the new thriller Crypt of the Chimera, he is drawn into a nightmare far worse than the books he reads for thrills. Locals from his grandparents' farm community are vanishing and Andy suspects it's the creature from the book. It's up to him to learn if his suspicions are true before it's too late.

"Books two, Andy McDougal and the Beast from the Bestiary and three, Andy McDougal and the Revenge of the Twins, are nearly completed and will be out later this year or early next," said Richardson.

About the Author

Kevin Richardson graduated from Cogswell College in 2003 with Bachelor of Arts in Computer and Video Imaging. Kevin is currently a Senior Producer at Nickelodeon Kids and Family Games in San Francisco and was the 2010 recipient of Volkswagen's Fun Theory award, which has been featured on Fox and Friends, The New York Times, ABC news and other notable news sources. He has worked in film, television and interactive media for over 20 years. Kevin started his career as an animator and artist for film and television with credits on LucasFilm's, Willow, Hanna-Barbera's, The Pound Puppies and Disney's, The Brave Little Toaster. In 2009 he also launched his own casual independent game series for download under the Gamespin banner, Ghost Town Mysteries. Over his career he has produced over 30 "E" rated games, including the Family Feud and Risk games and several Hasbro titles including Boggle and Trivial Pursuit while at iWin.com. Prior to iWin.com, he worked at The Learning Company/Mattel Interactive where he was Executive Producer on numerous Reader Rabbit and ClueFinders adventures and at EA/Pogo where he worked on Tumblebees ToGo.

April 26, 2011