Cogswell Held 2012 Commencement May 12

Commencement 2012

Cogswell College held its 2012 Commencement Ceremony on Saturday, May 12. Participants processed into the hall behind the Stewart Highlands Pipe Band of Menlo Park.

The ceremony took place at the San Jose Marriott hotel on Market Street in the second floor ballroom. Cogswell individually recognized each of the 25 graduates participating in the ceremony.

Presiding Officials included: Mr. Charles House, Chancellor; Mr. Michael Martin, Dean of the College, Dr. Younes Mourchid, representing the Cogswell College Faculty Senate. Sunnyvale Mayor, Anthony Spitaleri, presented the diplomas to the Fire Science graduates. Mayor Spitaleri is a retired Captain with the Palo Alto Fire Department where he spent 36 years so has a special connection with the Fire Science graduates.

Before the diploma presentations began, outstanding students, faculty and staff received well-deserved recognition. Award presenters included: Charles House for the Chancellorís Award and the Faculty and Staff awards, Reid Winfrey for Digital Art and Animation, Nirmal Singh for General Education, Dr. Timothy Duncan for Digital Audio Technology, Dr. David Gladstein for Engineering, Debby Hindus for Entrepreneurship, Dr. Younes Mourchid for Fire Science and Josie Alexander for Student Life.

Student Award Recipients:

2012 President's Award for Outstanding Student - Andrew Severns
2012 Outstanding Student, Digital Art and Animation - Kong Vang
2012 Outstanding Student, General Education - Daniel Babcock
2012 Outstanding Student, Digital Audio Technology - Blythe Cairnes
2012 Outstanding Student, Engineering - Farzam Moshtagh
2012 Outstanding Student, Entrepreneurship - Taylor Davis
2012 Outstanding Student, Student Life - Jessica Bower and Amelia Davis
2012 National Fire Academy Achievement Award - Gabriel Ferrer
2012 National Fire Academy Achievement Award - John Poell
2012 National Fire Academy Achievement Award - Americo Silvi
2012 National Fire Academy Achievement Award - Ryan Rucker
2012 National Fire Academy Achievement Award - Kevin Wise

Faculty Award Recipients:

2012 Dorothy Scholten Award for Excellence in Teaching - Richard Schimpf
2012 John & Ginnie Chin Excellence in Teaching Award - Timothy Duncan

Staff Award Recipients:

2012 Chancellor's Award for Outstanding Staff - Bonnie Phelps

For their high academic achievement, graduates Gabriel Ferrer, Degrees at a Distance/Fire Science and Will Reichenthal, Digital Audio Technology were selected to speak to the estimated 350 graduates, family, friends, faculty and staff in attendance.

Mr. Charles House, the new Chancellor of Cogswell College delivered the Commencement Address. You can read it here.

About the Commencement Speaker:

Chancellor House comes to Cogswell from Stanford University, where he was the Executive Director of Media X, Stanford's Interdisciplinary Industrial Research group for Digital Media. Prior, he was founder and Board Chairman of the Center for Information Technology and Society at the University of California at Santa Barbara.

House has a long industrial innovation career, including award-winning pioneering products in Computer Graphics and computer instrumentation. His acknowledgments include: Reagan Presidential Award of Merit; NSF Wizard of Computing; Engineer of the Year for Electronics; Top 25 products of past 25 years (CNN); Top 50 electronic products of the 20th century; Intrapreneur Honor Roll; "Hewlett-Packard Chuck House Productivity Award," "Hewlett-Packard Medal of Defiance." He is an IEEE and ACM Fellow.

House has held executive positions at Hewlett-Packard, Intel, Dialogic, Informix and Veritas. He was CEO of Spectron Microsystems, which built the operating system for the first wireless tablet, the Palm VII. He has served on multiple Boards for start-up companies and is currently on the Boards of the Computer History Museum and Bainbridge Graduate Institute. House has been ACM President and IEEE Vice President and chair of the Council of Scientific Society Presidents IT Forum.

May 12, 2012